Dear Esther

This game is incredible. Such impact. I don’t think I’ve ever played a game with such a deeply effective story.

dear-esther-3[1]

The voice acting is perfect. The game wouldn’t have been the same without Nigel Carrington’s tortured narration.
The aesthetics are top-notch too. There is a lot of attention paid to detail, and the world around you is rendered in near perfect detail.
As far as gameplay, well, there’s not a lot, apart from looking around and exploring, but having to hug cliffs so you don’t fall and being able to look at what you want, when you want adds a lot, especially seeing at there are things written around that help flesh out the story and position you emotionally.

I feel I should mention the story itself, but there’s not a lot I can say without spoiling it. I’ll just tell you that it explores the themes of love, loss, death and old age.

Don’t play this if you’re looking for a game, but if you want something more like an interactive movie, I can reccommend nothing more highly.

I don’t think I’ve missed anything here, but if there’s anything you want to ask me, post it in the comments.

dearesther-2012-02-16-16-11-32-15[1]

This entry was posted in Game Review, Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

